Typische Anwendungsbereiche für Lithium-Polymer Akkupacks

Tragbare medizinische Geräte

  • Infusionspumpen
  • Tragbare Röntgenapparate
  • Atemgeräte
  • Defibrilatoren
  • Chirurgische Instrumente
  • Patientenüberwachungsgeräte
  • Motorisierte Betten und Wagen
  • Muskelstimulatoren

Tragbare elektronische Geräte

  • Tragbare Drucker
  • Messgeräte
  • Datenspeichergeräte
  • Gasdetektoren
  • Digitale Aufzeichnungsgeräte

Schutz und Sicherheit

  • Nachtsichtgeräte
  • Überwachungsanlagen
  • Wärmebildgeräte
  • Tragbare Gasdetektoren
  • Atemgeräte
  • Personen-Notsignal-Geräte

Militär

  • Robuste tragbare Kommunikationsgeräte
  • Robuste Computer
  • Elektrische Werkzeuge
  • Messgeräte und Laser
  • Konstruktions-/Montagegeräte

IT

  • Handys
  • Mobile elektronische Geräte
  • Mobile industrielle Computer

Lithium-Polymer-Batterien unterscheiden sich von konventionellen Batteriesystemen durch die verwendeten Elektrolyte. Das ursprüngliche Design in den 1970er Jahren verwendete ein trockenes, festes Polymerelektrolyt. Dieses Elektrolyt ähnelt einem plastikartigen Film, der keine Elektrizität leitet, aber Ionenaustausch erlaubt (Ionen sind elektrisch geladene Atome oder Gruppen von Atomen). Das Polymerelektrolyt ersetzt den herkömmlichen porösen Separator, der mit Elektrolyten durchtränkt ist.

Das trockene Polymer Design bietet Erleichterungen im Hinblick auf Fertigung, Robustheit, Sicherheit und schlanker Geometrie. Mit Zellen, die bis zu 1mm dünn sein können, haben Design-Ingenieure alle Freiheiten hinsichtlich Form und Größe.

Leider hat das trockene Litium-Polymer nur wenig Leitfähigkeit. Der interne Widerstand ist zu hoch und kann nicht den Stromimpuls liefern, der bei modernen Kommunikationsgeräten und beim Starten der Hardware von mobilen Computern benötigt wird. Wenn die Zelle auf 60°C (140°F) und mehr erwärmt wird, erhöht sich zwar die Konduktivität, das ist aber unpraktikabel für tragbare Geräte.

Um einen Kompromiss zu finden, wurden auch gelierte Elektrolyte hinzugefügt. Kommerzielle Zellen verwenden einen Separator/eine elektrolytische Membran aus herkömmlichem porösen Polyethylen oder Polypropylen gefüllt mit Polymer, welches beim Füllen mit flüssigen Elktrolyten geliert. Trotzdem sind die kommerziellen Lithium-Ion-Polymer Zellen in Chemie und Material ihrem Pendant mit flüssigen Elektrolyten sehr ähnlich.

Lithium-Ion-Polymer hat sich nicht so schnell durchgesetzt wie einige Analysten es erwartet hatten. Seine Überlegenheit anderen Systemen gegenüber und niedrige Fertigungskosten wurden noch nicht realisiert. Verbesserungen bei der Kapazität wurden nicht erzielt – tatsächlich ist die Kapazität etwas kleiner als die einer Standard Lithium-Ionen Batterie. Lithium-Ion-Polymer findet seine Marktnische in hauchdünnen Designs, wie z.B. Batterien für Kreditkarten oder ähnlichen Anwendungen.

Lithium Polymer Advantages

  • Sehr dünnes Profil – Batterien, die wie eine Kreditkarte aussehen – sind machbar.
  • Flexibler Formfaktor – Hersteller sind nicht an standardisierte Zellformate gebunden. In großen Mengen kann jegliche realistische Größe ökonomisch produziert werden.
  • Leichtgewicht – gelierte Elektrolyte ermöglichen einfache Verpackung, da es keine Metallfassung gibt.
  • Verbesserte Sicherheit – resistenter gegen Überladung; geringere Gefahr dass Elektrolyten austreten

Limitations of Lithium-Polymer Battery Technology

  • Geringere Energiedichte und verminderte Zyklusanzahl verglichen mit Lithium-Ion.
  • Teure Produktion.
  • Keine Standardgrößen. Die meisten Zelle werden für hochvolumige Verbrauchermärkte produziert.
  • Höhere Kosten-zu-Energieeffizienz Rate als Lithium-Ion.

Einschränkungen für Lithium bei Flugreisen

Flugreisende stellen die Frage: „Wieviel Lithium darf in einer Batterie sein, die ich mit an Bord nehme?“ Wir unterscheiden zwischen zwei Batterietypen: Lithium Metall und Lithium-Ion.

Die meisten Lithium Metall Batterien sind nicht wiederaufladbar und werden in Filmkameras verwendet. Lithium-Ion Akkus sind wiederaufladbar und versorgen Laptops, Handys und Camcorders mit Strom. Beide Batterietypen, inklusive Ersatzbatterien sind im Handgepäck erlaubt, aber dürfen folgende Werte des Lithiumanteils nicht überschreiten:

  • 2 gr für Lithium Metall oder Lithium legierte Batterien
  • 8 gr für Lithium-Ion Batterien
  • Lithium-Ion Batterien, die 8 gr überschreiten, aber nicht mehr als 25 gr dürfen im Handgepäck bleiben, wenn sie einzeln so geschützt sind, dass Kurzschlüsse vermieden werden. Nur zwei Ersatzbatterien pro Person dürfen in diesem Fall mitgeführt werden.

Wie finde ich den Lithiumanteil einer Lithium-Ion Batterie heraus?

Theoretisch gibt es kein metallisches Lithium in einer typischen Lithium-Ionen Batterie. Es gibt allerdings gleichwertigen Lithiumanteil, der berücksichtigt werden muss. Für eine Lithium-Ion Zelle wird zur Kalkulation die Bemessungskapazität (in Ampere-Stunden) mal 0.3 genommen.

Beispiel: Eine 2Ah 18650 Li-Ion Zelle hat 0.6 gr Lithiumanteil. Bei einem typischen 60 Wh Laptop Akku mit 8 Zellen (4 in Serie und 2 parallel), addiert sich das auf 4.8 gr. Um unter der 8 gr UN Grenze zu bleiben, kann die größte Batterie, die man an Bord bringen darf, 96Wh sein. Dieser Pack könnte 2.2Ah Zellen in einer 12-Zellen Konfiguration (4S3P) beinhalten. Wenn stattdessen 2.4Ah Zellen verwendet würden, dürfte das Pack nur 9 Zellen (3S3P) haben.

Einschränkungen beim Transport von Lithium-Ion Akkus

Jeder, der Lithium-Ion Akkus als Bulkware verschickt, ist verantwortlich dafür die Transportbestimmungen zu erfüllen. Dies gilt für inländische und internationale Lieferungen via Land, See und Luft.

Lithium-Ion Zellen, deren entsprechender Lithium Anteil 1.5 Gramm oder 8 Gramm pro Akkupack übersteigt, müssen als „Klasse 9 - Verschiedene gefährliche Stoffe“ deklariert werden. Die Zellkapazität und die Anzahl der Zellen im Pack bestimmen den Lithium Anteil.

Ausnahmen gibt es für Akkupacks, die weniger als 8 Gramm Lithiumanteil vorweisen. Wenn allerdings eine Lieferung mehr als 24 Lithium Zellen oder 12 Lithium-Ion Akkupacks enthält, wird eine besondere Kennzeichnung und spezielle Lieferdokumente gefordert. Jede Verpackung muss kenntlich gemacht werden, dass sie Lithium Batterien enthält.

Alle Lithium-Ion Batterien müssen entsprechend den UN 3090 Anforderungen getestet werden, unabhängig vom Lithium Anteil (UN Handbuch der Prüfungen und Kriterien, Teil III, Unterabschnit 38.3). Diese Sicherheitsvorkehrung gewährleistet, dass keine fehlerhaften Batterien transportiert werden.

Zellen und Batterien müssen getrennt werden, um Kurzschlüsse zu vermeiden und sie müssen in stabile Kartons verpackt werden.

Neuheiten » Akkupacks

  • GlobTek’s Battery Packs Feature Multi-Chemistry Designs and Latest IATA 56th Edition Compliance!

Power quality has emerged as a much discussed topic within the last ten years and is anticipated to remain... GlobTeks Lithium-Polymer (Li-Po), Nickel-Cadmium (Ni-Cd) und Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) Akkusätze sind gemäß der 56. Ausgabe der IATA-Gefahrgutregularien aktualisiert!
  • GlobTek’s Wearable Curved 3.7 @ 28mAh Li-Po Battery Pack Designed to Meet UL 1642 Cell Approval!
A leader in the design, integration, and manufacture of custom battery packs and battery chargers, GlobTek... Tragbare, Form-angeglichene, flexible Lithium Polymer (Li-Po) Akkusätze von GlobTek sind jetzt in unbegrenzten Größen und Formen verfügbar, zusätzlich sind sie konform oder werden entwickelt, um zu den Standards UL 2054, UL 1642 Zellenzertifikation und IEC-62133 konform zu sein, auch die Anforderungen für eine CE-Kennzeichnung für die elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit nach 2004/108/EC einschließlich EN61000-6-1:2007 und EN61000-6-3:2007 werden erfüllt!
  • GlobTek’s BL2600C1865001S2PRML Battery Pack in 1S2P Configuration represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Cylindrical Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CE Mark which... Zylindrischer Li-Ion Akkusatz von GlobTek mit 3,7V, 5200 mAh, BL2600C1865001S2PRML, er verfügt über die UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe und eine CE-Kennzeichnung mit der die elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit nach 2004/108/EC einschließlich EN61000-6-1:2007 und EN61000-6-3:2007 erfüllt wird!
  • GlobTek’s BL0105F2635161S1PCAT Battery Pack represents latest addition to miniature iPod nano - compatible high-capacity Li-Ion / LiPo (Polymer) Battery family with UL 2054 Approved Pack and a IEC/EN... Miniatur Li-Ion Polymer Akkusatz BL0105F2635161S1PCAT, 3,7V, 105 mAh verfügt jetzt über UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe und UL2054 Akkusatz-Freigabe (in Bearbeitung) so wie über die Zertifizierung gemäß 1. & 2. Ausgabe des IEC/EN 62133 Standards!
  • GlobTek’s BL1800P0639602S1PPLB Battery Pack represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Prismatic Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CE Mark which complies with 2004/108/EC... Rechteckiger Li-Ion Akkusatz BL1800P0639602S1PPLB, 7,4V, 1800 mAh, er verfügt jetzt über die UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe und eine CE-Kennzeichnung mit der die elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit nach 2004/108/EC einschließlich EN61000-6-1:2007 und EN61000-6-3:2007 erfüllt wird!!
  • GlobTek’s 2GL-523450-G2107(R) Battery Pack represents latest addition to a complete charging solution (Battery Pack, Charger, Multi-bay Charging Cradle), featuring UL 1624 approved high capacity polymer... Li-Ion Polymer Akkusatz 2GL-523450-G2107(R), 3,7V, 2000 mAh jetzt mit UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe und ROHS-Konformität!
  • GlobTek’s BL1950P1034502S1PQPA Battery Pack in 2S1P Configuration represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Prismatic Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CE Mark which complies... Rechteckiger Li-Ion Akkusatz von GlobTek, 7,4 V / 1950 mAh BL1950P1034502S1PQPA UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe, entwickelt zur Einhaltung der CE-Kennzeichnung für die elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit gemäß 2004/108/EC einschließlich EN61000-6-1:2007 und EN61000-6-3:2007!
  • GlobTek’s BL1400C1850001S2PRML Battery Pack in 1S2P Configuration represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Cylindrical Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CE Mark which... Zylindrischer Li-Ion Akkusatz von GlobTek mit 3,7V, 2800 mAh, BL1400C1850001S2PRML, er verfügt jetzt über die UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe und eine CE-Kennzeichnung mit der die elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit nach 2004/108/EC, einschließlich EN61000-6-1:2007 und EN61000-6-3:2007 erfüllt wird!
  • GlobTek’s BL2200F6034501S2PPML Battery Pack in 1S2P Configuration represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Prismatic Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CE Mark which complies... Rechteckiger Li-Ion Akkusatz von GlobTek mit 3,7V, 2200 mAh, BL2200F6034501S2PPML, er verfügt über die UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe und eine CE-Kennzeichnung mit der die elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit nach 2004/108/EC einschließlich EN61000-6-1:2007 und EN61000-6-3:2007 erfüllt wird!
  • GlobTek’s BL2600C18654S1PG2646 Battery Pack represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Polymer Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CB Certification to 62133:2012 (Second... GlobTeks 14,8V, 2600 mAh Li-Ion Akkusatz ist jetzt zertifiziert nach 62133:2012 2. Ausgabe!
  • Lithium Ion (Li-Ion) Battery Pack BL2600C1865004S1PG1 represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Polymer Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CB Certification to 62133:2012... GlobTeks BL2600C1865004S1PG1 14,8V, 2600 mAh Li-Ion Akkusatz ist jetzt zertifiziert nach CB- 62133:2012 2. Ausgabe!
  • GlobTek’s BL0105F2635161S1PCAT Battery Pack represents latest addition to miniature iPod nano - compatible high-capacity Li-Ion / LiPo (Polymer) Battery family with UL 2054 Approved Pack and a IEC/EN... GlobTeks 3,7V, 105 mAh Akkusatz verfügt jetzt über die UL 1642 Akkuzellen-Freigabe und UL2054 Akkusatz-Freigabe (in Bearbeitung) so wie über die Zertifizierung gemäß 1. & 2. Ausgabe des IEC/EN 62133 Standards!
  • Call
    Email
    💬
    Text
    💁
    Chat
    ?
    Request a Quote
    Können wir Ihnen helfen?
    Können wir Ihnen helfen?

The lithium-polymer cell differentiates itself from conventional battery systems in the type of electrolyte used. The original design, dating back to the 1970s, uses a dry solid polymer electrolyte. This electrolyte resembles a plastic-like film that does not conduct electricity but allows ion exchange (ions are electrically charged atoms or groups of atoms). The polymer electrolyte replaces the traditional porous separator, which is soaked with electrolyte.

The dry polymer design offers simplifications with respect to fabrication, ruggedness, safety and thin-profile geometry. With a cell thickness measuring as little as one millimeter (0.039 inches), equipment designers are left to their own imagination in terms of form, shape and size.

Unfortunately, the dry lithium-polymer suffers from poor conductivity. The internal resistance is too high and cannot deliver the current bursts needed to power modern communication devices and spin up the hard drives of mobile computing equipment. Heating the cell to 60°C (140°F) and higher increases the conductivity, a requirement that is unsuitable for portable applications.

To compromise, some gelled electrolyte has been added. The commercial cells use a separator/ electrolyte membrane prepared from the same traditional porous polyethylene or polypropylene separator filled with a polymer, which gels upon filling with the liquid electrolyte. Thus the commercial lithium-ion polymer cells are very similar in chemistry and materials to their liquid electrolyte counter parts.

Lithium-ion-polymer has not caught on as quickly as some analysts had expected. Its superiority to other systems and low manufacturing costs has not been realized. No improvements in capacity gains are achieved - in fact, the capacity is slightly less than that of the standard lithium-ion battery. Lithium-ion-polymer finds its market niche in wafer-thin geometries, such as batteries for credit cards and other such applications.

Lithium Polymer Advantages

  • Very low profile - batteries resembling the profile of a credit card are feasible.
  • Flexible form factor - manufacturers are not bound by standard cell formats. With high volume, any reasonable size can be produced economically.
  • Lightweight - gelled electrolytes enable simplified packaging by eliminating the metal shell.
  • Improved safety - more resistant to overcharge; less chance for electrolyte leakage.

Limitations of Lithium-Polymer Battery Technology

  • Lower energy density and decreased cycle count compared to lithium-ion.
  • Expensive to manufacture.
  • No standard sizes. Most cells are produced for high volume consumer markets
  • Higher cost-to-energy ratio than lithium-ion

Restrictions on lithium content for air travel

Air travelers ask the question: "How much lithium in a battery am I allowed to bring on board?" We differentiate between two battery types: Lithium metal and lithium-ion.

Most lithium metal batteries are non-rechargeable and are used in film cameras. Lithium-ion packs are rechargeable and power laptops, cellular phones and camcorders. Both battery types, including spare packs, are allowed as carry-on but cannot exceed the following lithium content:

  • 2 grams for lithium metal or lithium alloy batteries
  • 8 grams for lithium-ion batteries
  • Lithium-ion batteries exceeding 8 grams but no more than 25 grams may be carried in carry-on baggage if individually protected to prevent short circuits and are limited to two spare batteries per person.

How do I know the lithium content of a lithium-ion battery?

From a theoretical perspective, there is no metallic lithium in a typical lithium-ion battery. There is, however, equivalent lithium content that must be considered. For a lithium-ion cell, this is calculated at 0.3 times the rated capacity (in ampere-hours).

Example: A 2Ah 18650 Li-ion cell has 0.6 grams of lithium content. On a typical 60 Wh laptop battery with 8 cells (4 in series and 2 in parallel), this adds up to 4.8g. To stay under the 8-gram UN limit, the largest battery you can bring is 96 Wh. This pack could include 2.2Ah cells in a 12 cells arrangement (4s3p). If the 2.4Ah cell were used instead, the pack would need to be limited to 9 cells (3s3p).

Restrictions on Shipment of Lithium-ion Batteries

Anyone shipping lithium-ion batteries in bulk is responsible to meet transportation regulations. This applies to domestic and international shipments by land, sea and air.

Lithium-ion cells whose equivalent lithium content exceeds 1.5 grams or 8 grams per battery pack must be shipped as "Class 9 miscellaneous hazardous material." Cell capacity and the number of cells in a pack determine the lithium content.

Exception is given to packs that contain less than 8 grams of lithium content. If, however, a shipment contains more than 24 lithium cells or 12 lithium-ion battery packs, special markings and shipping documents will be required. Each package must be marked that it contains lithium batteries.

All lithium-ion batteries must be tested in accordance with specifications detailed in UN 3090 regardless of lithium content (UN manual of Tests and Criteria, Part III, subsection 38.3). This precaution safeguards against the shipment of flawed batteries.

Cells & batteries must be separated to prevent short-circuiting and packaged in strong boxes.

Typical Applications of Lithium-Polymer Battery Packs

Portable Medical Equipment

  • Infusion pumps
  • Portable X-ray systems
  • Respirators
  • Defibulators
  • Surgical tools
  • Patient monitoring devices
  • Motorized beds and carts
  • Muscle stimulators

Handheld Electronics

  • Handheld printers
  • Measurement devices
  • Data collection devices
  • Gas detection systems
  • Image capture devices

Safety and Security

  • Night vision cameras
  • Surveillance equipment
  • Thermal imaging devices
  • Wearable gas detection systems
  • Respirators
  • Personal alarms

Military

  • Ruggedized Portable communications equipment
  • Ruggedized Computing devices
  • Power Tools and Appliances
  • Measuring equipment and Lasers
  • Construction/Assembly equipment

Communications

  • Mobile Phones
  • Mobile Electronic Devices
  • Mobile industrial Computers

News » Battery Packs

  • GlobTek announces the release of BS1200C1425001S1PCMW, an industry standard package size for water metering applications. The battery pack features a 3.6V operating voltage and 1200mAh current capacity. Lithium-thionyl chloride (Li-SoCl2) battery pack features 3.6V Operating voltage and 1200mAh capacity in a small 1/2AA form factor with Molex(2695) 22-01-3027 (2 pin) Termination, BS1200C1425001S1PCMW
  • BL1880F6835661S5PG9x is an addition to the growing family of GlobTek’s IEC 62133 Certified High-Capacity Battery Packs with the host of Safety, Monitoring and Connecting features.

Beginning May 1st,... IEC62133 Certified Lithium Polymer (Li-Po) 3.7V, 9400mAh Battery Pack Features High Capacity and Integrated Connector!
  • GlobTek’s Battery Packs Feature Multi-Chemistry Designs and Latest IATA 56th Edition Compliance!

Power quality has emerged as a much discussed topic within the last ten years and is anticipated to remain... GlobTek’s Lithium Polymer (Li-Po), Nickel Cadmium (Ni-Cad) and Lithium Ion (Li-Ion) Battery Packs are Updated to IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations 56th Edition!
  • GlobTek’s Wearable Curved 3.7 @ 28mAh Li-Po Battery Pack Designed to Meet UL 1642 Cell Approval!
A leader in the design, integration, and manufacture of custom battery packs and battery chargers, GlobTek... Wearable Conformal Flexible Lithium Polymer (Li-Po) Battery Packs from GlobTek are Now Available in Unlimited Sizes and Shapes, Plus Either Meet or are Designed to Meet UL 2054, UL 1642 Cell Certification, IEC-62133 and a CE Mark which complies with 2004/108/EC Electromagnetic compatibility, including EN61000-6-1:2007, EN61000-6-3:2007!
  • GlobTek’s BL2600C1865001S2PRML Battery Pack in 1S2P Configuration represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Cylindrical Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CE Mark which... Li-Ion Cylindrical Battery Pack from GlobTek, a 3.7 VOLTS @ 5200mAh BL2600C1865001S2PRML Now Features UL 1642 Cell Approval and a CE Mark which complies with 2004/108/EC Electromagnetic compatibility, including EN61000-6-1:2007, EN61000-6-3:2007!
  • GlobTek’s BL0105F2635161S1PCAT Battery Pack represents latest addition to miniature iPod nano - compatible high-capacity Li-Ion / LiPo (Polymer) Battery family with UL 2054 Approved Pack and a IEC/EN... Miniature Li-Ion Polymer Battery Pack BL0105F2635161S1PCAT, 3.7V @ 105mAh Now Features UL 1642 Cell Approval and UL2054 Pack Approval (pending), as well as IEC/EN 62133 1st & 2nd Edition Certification!
  • GlobTek’s BL1800P0639602S1PPLB Battery Pack represents latest addition to rugged high-capacity Li-Ion / Prismatic Battery family with UL 1642 Approved Cells and a CE Mark which complies with 2004/108/EC... Li-Ion Prismatic Battery Pack BL1800P0639602S1PPLB, 7.4V @ 1800mAh Now Features UL 1642 Cell Approval and a CE Mark which complies with 2004/108/EC Electromagnetic compatibility, including EN61000-6-1:2007, EN61000-6-3:2007!!
  • GlobTek’s 2GL-523450-G2107(R) Battery Pack represents latest addition to a complete charging solution (Battery Pack, Charger, Multi-bay Charging Cradle), featuring UL 1624 approved high capacity polymer... Li-Ion Polymer Battery Pack 2GL-523450-G2107(R), 3.7V @ 2000mAh Now Features UL 1642 Cell Approval and is ROHS complient!
  • Can we help you?
    Can we help you?